How to delete a Windows Live or Hotmail account?

If you believe that the security of your Windows Live or Hotmail account has been compromised on and you may end up in trouble, it makes complete sense for you to want to delete these accounts. Even if you do not have sensitive information stored in your Hotmail or Windows Live account, they may nonetheless be used for malicious tasks, which may also include identity theft. Therefore, the sooner you delete the accounts, the better it will be for you as well as all your contacts (saved in these accounts). Don’t worry about the process, if you are not already aware. Just read on, the 3-step solution is available for you below:

 

  1. Open the web browser on your computer.
  2. Type ‘http://mail.live.com/mail/CloseAccountConfirmation.aspx’ in the address bar, then press ‘Enter’ on your keyboard.
  3. Login with your hotmail account and then click on the ‘Close account’ button to close your e-mail account.

Footnotes:

Once you have deleted the accounts, you will no longer have to worry about your credentials and contact list being used by hackers and criminals for unscrupulous means. Of course, you can always return to these services to open a new account and start work afresh.