How to Clean the D drive in Windows Vista

As you must be aware that every computer contains more than one drive. All the files and folders are stored in C drive. But keeping all the data and information on only one drive without taking its back up can create the circumstances of data loss with no option to even recover it. This is the reason that a D drive is always there on computer which is generally meant and built for the purpose of keeping the back up of your data and for preventing your data from loss by recovering your files and folders. Installation of Windows Vista gives you the option to make such disk that can save all your programs and files and that function stores all the data in D drive. So in case, some problem comes in the C drive, or hard disk, you will have the complete back up in D Drive.

But, there is the possibility that situations occur or something happens that you have to empty your D drive also.

Steps to Empty D drive:

If you are forced to empty the D drive, you will have to format that drive on Windows Vista. The steps for doing this process are as follows.

First of all, on the Start menu of your PC, there is an option “Computer”. On clicking on it, you will see a D drive there. Click on that icon twice. When you will do that, you will see a message that will confirm you that it is a hard disk for back up and you should not make any changes on any of the files in this drive, as it  contains the back up files  for data recovery and data storage only.

The above step will help you ensure that your D drive has the full back up of data. Then you should right click on this D drive. An option would appear “Format”.

When you will select it, it will ask you to make a confirmation that you really want to format your D drive. Select OK to give confirmation. It will make your drive blank. As it gets empty, you again take the complete back up of your files on this drive.

Now if you want to format your main hard disk, then insert a Windows Installation Disc in the drive and start your computer again. The user has an option to reformat the drive and install the Windows again while the setup process. But you should not do this while the hard drive is in use otherwise there is a possibility that the Windows itself gets deleted. So it is suggested not to reformat the hard disk when it is in use as a safer option.

As soon as you install a new drive, you should format it in the beginning only so that it can properly work and before doing the formatting, you should take complete back up of your data in some other drive so that you don’t lose it. This should be done at regular intervals so that no risk is there even if any issue comes. Don’t format the data with any files unless you are left with no other alternative.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *