How to delete your usage history tracks in Windows®

Windows is the most used operating system in the world. In this post I will let you know how to erase your computer usage tracks so that others are not able to see what you work upon. Since Windows XP, a lot of emphasis was given to the computer security and two different Windows accounts cannot check other users without a password. But even in Windows XP, the Administrator can anytime log into your account and see all that you have done. You can easily avoid such situations by clearing your history once you are through with your work so that no one can trace your footprints. I will cover clearing history from the Internet browsers, clearing history of opened applications, and clearing history of the open files.

Clear history of browsers

This is quite simple and can be done in any browser. Given below are the steps for Internet Explorer.

Step 1: Click on ‘Start’ button and open the ‘Control Panel’.

Step 2: In ‘Control Panel’, open the icon named ‘Internet Options’.

Step 3: In ‘Internet Options’ window you will find a button named ‘Delete’ under the ‘General’ Tab.

Step 4: Click on the ‘Delete’ button and then select the items you want to clear from the history of Internet Explorer.

These actions will erase the said history logs from your browser and no one can now see what all you did on the browser.

Clear history of opened applications

Windows Vista and above have a default feature of maintaining a list of recently opened applications in the ‘Start’ Menu. You however can make the settings to either clear this listing or not to save the list at all.

Step 1: Right click on the taskbar in Windows Vista or above and then click on ‘Properties’ option from the context menu.

Step 2: Click on the ‘Start’ Menu in the taskbar and Start Menu Properties Window.

Step 3: Here in the Privacy box you will find two check boxes and the first one will be for storing and displaying the recently opened applications in the Start menu.

Step 4: You can uncheck the box and click on apply to clear the list and not store the history again. If you just wish to clear the history then check the box again and click on ‘Apply’.

Clear Recent Items List

In ‘Start’ menu there is a folder for saving a list of recently opened files. This can easily be cleaned by following the steps given below

Step 1: Open the ‘Start’ Menu and then right click on the ‘Recent Items’ option.

Step 2: Now click on ‘Clear Recent Items’ list in the context menu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *