How to Adjust Settings of the Recycle Bin in Windows 7

The Recycle Bin is extremely useful idea introduced more than two decades ago. When you put files in it, they are masked as deleted, until you decide to clean it, then they are deleted for real, and free the space they occupied on the hard drive. And exactly as with your office bin, from time to time, when you remember you needed something you’ve just thrown – you can always open “Recycle Bin” and restore this information. But the good idea has its bad sides sometimes. As the space occupied by the “deleted” files is not really emptied, with time you can simply run out of free space. If this happens on your system partition, it may have very unpleasant effects – from “Low Memory” messages, to random restarts, as the system has no space to create needed files. So keeping the “Recycle Bin” clean is necessity for normal work flow. But you can also adjust few settings, and be free to use the “Recycle Bin” without even remembering it. You can even switch it off if you are certain you do not need its functionality.

Adjust the storage space allocated to Recycle Bin

In order to keep your space from being “eaten” by Recycle Bin, you can insure yourslef, by allowing only certain amount of space to be taken by protected files. You do this by entering in “Properties” of the “Recycle Bin” (right-click it), then under “Recycle Bin Location” select the partition which settings you will adjust – or example drive “C:” is the common system drive. Select “Custom Size”, and enter the desired maximum space in the “Maximum Size (MB)” box. Click “Apply”. You are done; now “Recycle Bin” will only take that much space, allowing your system to take as much space as needed for its needs.

Totally disable “Recycle Bin” and disabling the deletion confirmation dialogue

It is generally not advisable to totally disable these, but it is possible, and some people prefer to do it with the installation of the operation system, be it for privacy concerns, or because they do not want to loose space, and are sure they will not accidentally delete needed files. This is done in the same menu as previous operation – right-click “Recycle Bin”, select “Properties”, then select the partition which settings you will change. Click “Don’t move files to the Recycle Bin. Remove files immediately when deleted”. Click OK. You have now disabled “Recycle Bin” for this partition. Files will be deleted when you click “Delete” or put them to the bin. Remember this, and do not rely on restoring them once they are deleted.

You can also disable the file confirmation dialogue shown when you delete files. You can also do this in “Properties”, just clear the “Display delete confirmation dialog” check box. Remember than simple click on delete button of your keyboard will now delete files, and they will not be recoverable, unless you use special software, so be careful with these options.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *