Click on Start, Right click on Computer and then click on Manage. Windows will now ask you to click on continue or cancel. Click on Start then open the Run box and type Services.Msc. Windows Vista will again ask you to click on Continue or Cancel. Have you ever thought why does Windows Vista ask you to confirm such actions even if you are the administrator of your computer? This happens because of the security feature in Windows Vista which asks the user to confirm that the action taken is by a physical user or by some malicious code running in the background. This prompt is called as the elevation prompt when you allow an action to get completed with the elevated right s of the administrator. Any program or software, if tries to make some change in the core files of windows, then it cannot do the same without your consent or approval. It actually is a great security feature but at times it is bothersome to click on “continue” every now and then. If you are sure that there is no malicious software on your computer and if you are sure that your computers security settings will not allow any malicious program to enter into your computer then you can turn OFF this elevation and then Windows will not ask for your confirmation. Though Windows will not ask for your confirmation but it will ask for administrator’s password if you are not a part administrators group on the computer you are working.

The elevation feature of Windows is called as User Account Control and UAC in short. This can be turned off from the control panel and lets see how to do it. In order to turn Windows UAC off click on Start and then open the Control Panel. In Control Panel open User Accounts and Family Safety. Over there click on User Accounts and when the User Accounts page comes up you will find an option for turning the User Account Control on or off. This would be the last option in this page and is titled as “Turn User Account Control on or off”. Click on this option and Windows will ask you to click on Continue (for the last time until you turn it ON again). In the page which comes next there would be one single check box for turning the UAC ON or OFF. After making your changes click on OK and then restart your computer. Restarting the computer is important because this is a change for multiple user accounts and can only be written in to the registry when computer restarts.

When the computer restarts again try to access some core area of your computer like registry, control panel or computer management window and you will notice that windows will not prompt you to click on Continue anymore. This is helpful in case you do not want to spend time in clicking the same but can compromise your computers safety, so please turn this feature OFF only if you think your computer is infection free and there could be no background process which can make unwanted changes in the core of Windows.