Apple Mac OS X Lion is the most advanced OS offered to Mac users. The OS is known to have 250 plus new features which are expected take the user experience to a new level.  The application resume option   is one amazing feature that is new to users. This feature speaks about the system’s capability to remember windows, positions of applications and   documents that were open when the user quits the application.  With this feature, user will be able to start from the state which he/she left off last time. Such feature will prove useful in several situations. But not all is good about this amazing feature. It can also cause inconvenience in some situations.  For example, if the application crashed last time then it would crash again when you launch the application next time. The feature may also cause privacy or security concern such as if you closed the application while  you were viewing any sensitive data then the same document will be opened when the application is launched next time.  However, Apple seemed to have taken note of these concerns and provided options to resolve them. User has the option to customize the behavior of an application such as opening of a specific   file when the program is re-launched or disabling the application resume function completely. Let’s see how user can manage the MAC OS X Lion’s application resume feature.

Disable the Resume feature for all applications: If any user does not want the application resume feature for any application then user can disable it by changing the system settings.  The application resume feature can be disabled   through “General” system preferences. You just have to uncheck the option “Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps”.

Disable the Resume feature for specific application: The system saves the information about the state of the application in Saved Application State Directory. The system creates individual folders for each application in this directory. Users can disable the resume feature for independent application by locking their respective state folders. Quit the application for which you want to disable the application resume feature. Navigate to the application folder in Saved Application State Directory, delete the entire folder contents and lock it.

Make a launch template: You can also customize the application resume feature for an application and prevent it from opening the last opened file when the program is re-launched. If you want the application to open a specific document or location then open the desired location or file with the program.  Close the application. The system will save the current state in Saved Application State Directory. Locate the folder with application name in Saved Application State Directory and lock it. Now system will not be able to modify the folder and it will open the same file when the application is re-launched.

These way users can easily enjoy the benefits provided by application resume feature and also avoid security and privacy concerns due to this feature.